Fried Fish – My Way

Actually, first I wanted to call it “Fried Fish Russian way”, because that was the only way to fry fish I knew when I was growing up. When I came to the US, it turned out nobody around was using this “technology” which is why my daughter calls it “Mom’s way”.

You will need:

  • 6 tilapia fillets, or ocean perch fillets, or whatever fish you have – any fish will turn just perfect
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup of wheat flour
  • salt

Slightly beat an egg with 2 tbs of water and some salt (to taste). Soak fish fillets in the mix (it’s better to soak not more than 2 pieces at a time)

Put flour into another bowl (I prefer a small plate instead of a bowl, but this may get messy) and mix with 1 tsp of salt (or less). Place pre-soaked fish fillets into the flour and salt mix:

Put the fish fillets on a frying pan (I prefer grill pan) with as little vegetable oil as possible (it will depend on a pan size, but just enough so that the fish won’t get burned), fry on small-medium until golden brown, turn fish fillets to the other side and fry until the other side is golden brown as well. It will be ready really quick, watch it  and avoid over-frying. The best part about this way of cooking is that the fish will remain soft and juicy.

Serving suggestion (shown above): serve with mashed potatoes, sauerkraut, mixed vegetable salad.

Leave a comment